best way to solder leads to stars ?

RustyShackleford1

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to working with these surface-mount LEDs. After they're reflowed to a "star", what is the easiest way to solder leads to the '+' and '-' terminals on the star ? I'm using solid wire, probably 20ga I'd guess. I have tried tinning the pad (on the star) and the wire first, and that seems to help, but I'm still not getting very good joints. Thanks.

peter yetman

Flashlight Enthusiast
Are you using flux, or have you rosin core solder? One or the other is good. I had trouble too until I used a 45W Weller Iron with a flat tip. You need to heat the pad area for aboutt 15 secs before attaching the wire, as the heatsink pulls a lot of heat away. I've been soldering since before I could walk, and still have trouble with these. I'm impressed you did the reflow - too scared.
P

Steve K

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think you'll need to provide more info. Pictures, perhaps?

You might also want to tell us what you don't like about these solder joints.

FRITZHID

Flashlight Enthusiast
Flux flux flux! Make sure you heat thoroughly and then don't move the joint until solder has hardened. Remember RoHOS solder will often look gray or foggy compared to lead based solder.

DIWdiver

Flashlight Enthusiast
The problem with stars is that they are designed to suck heat away from whatever is hot. Thus it is very difficult to get the joints hot enough to solder properly. Everyone mentions flux, and that's important, but if you can't get the joint hot enough, you'll never get a good joint no matter how much flux you use. If you can solder other things well but have trouble with stars, the problem is heat not flux. It helps to have a big beefy soldering iron with a fat tip in good condition. It also helps a lot if the star is not yet connected to the heatsink.