50W China LED Motorbike (enduro) headlight. Need suggestions/help

Lantz

Newly Enlightened
Hello!

I'm all new to the whole DIY LED, electronics, flashlight thing, but have found me an intersting project that I simply need some input on to get started. I'm an mechatronical engineer, so I know some basic stuff about electronics, and can hopefully follow your techy discussions. :)

So here's the ting. I'm an enduro driver, and at this time of the year it gets quite dark here in Norway (and snowy and cold, but thats a different discussuion). In a moment of weekness, or strength, depending on how you see it, I found it to be a cool idea and cheap project to try to put a 50 LED chip inside my enduro headlight instead of the 35W halogen buld thats barely glowing. I ended up buying the following components:

50W led and driver
http://www.ebay.com/itm/261727353516

AC-DC converter
http://vod.ebay.com/vod/FetchOrderD...82603&transid=1217008707014&viewpaymentstatus=

Headlight mask
http://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-35W-BLA...ash=item3aa521df88:g:bJ0AAOSw1vlUx25n&vxp=mtr

The plan is to place the led so that is shines through the whole where the bulb normally sits. It fits quite perfect actually. (This is only for off-road use). My bike has a battery and strater motor, and hence a DC circuit. I'm however not 100% sure of the stator output, but I think it is 55W, so in order to ensure that I do not drain the battery, I will connect the AC-DC converter to my current lighting circuit which is 12V AC. (at least then I think I don't steal from the battery, only in worst case take all the juice needed to charge it?)

Now that it's all here, and I've done some more reading i realize i have a couple of questions I can't really figure out.