Awesome flashlight: Nitecore EA45S

JordanK

Newly Enlightened
I just took delivery of a Nitecore EA45S from Amazon.ca and I'm loving this new light. I think Amazon messed up the price because it was selling on their Canadian website for the same dollar amount as the USA site but in Canadian dollars. With the Canadian dollar at $0.71 USA dollars, I ended up paying about $56 in USA$. Not bad with free Prime shipping and no tax.

I bought the light because I wanted a pocket thrower that runs on AA's and the price was right. I'm kinda new to this flashlight hobby and I'm trying to stick with AA and AAA lights for now to avoid having to buy multiple battery types and chargers. Eneloop AA and AAA are cheap and plentiful so this light was perfect.

This light throws an amazing 402m and the programming is terrific. There seems to be lots of positive comments on the bigger 18650-based Nitecore EC4S and EC4SW versions but I think this light is a bit of an undiscovered champion in the 1000 lumen category. Very pleased with my purchase.

Jordan

24534541286_bb8ec2d7c2_z.jpg

wolfgaze

Enlightened
I'm kinda new to this flashlight hobby and I'm trying to stick with AA and AAA lights for now to avoid having to buy multiple battery types and chargers. Eneloop AA and AAA are cheap and plentiful so this light was perfect.

I was the same way not long ago... I avoided looking at flashlights that utilized battery types I was not familiar with - as I figured I would not only need to purchase these new batteries but also buy separate chargers for them... Fairly recently I learned that there were universal-type chargers capable of charging many different battery types... So I got myself one of those (a Nitecore D4) and now I'm charging my AA/AAA Eneloops on it as well as 18650 batteries, and soon to be16340's (RCR123's)...

wjv

Enlightened
I think a lot of people start down the "AAA"/"AA" route.