"Build" a flashlight with my Grandkids?

Mobileschoney

Newly Enlightened
I apologize in advance if a similar thread is already available here. I am a total noob to flashlights but have become quickly very fascinated with them. Ok well always fascinated but that was just because I am totally night blind and always carry a light. But now I am becoming interested in higher end lights and maybe learning how to Lego one together.

Ok back to the topic, I am thinking of buying a Convoy S2+ for me to learn with. My question though is my Grandkids will be visiting soon and I would love a flashlight that I could take apart and build with them to keep. Of course I don't think a 18650 Convoy would be appropriate so any recommendations on a AAA or AA light I could do this with, that is reasonably priced?

Thanks so much!

Kudzu

Newly Enlightened
Maglite incandescents are inexpensive and fun to take apart. And you could do an LED conversion while you're at it.

emarkd

Flashlight Enthusiast
Why don't you think an 18650-powered Convoy would be appropriate? Buy protected cells and use lower-powered drivers if you're concerned, but I let my kids play with my 18650-powered lights all the time, including several Convoy S2+'s. These color-matched lights I built are always a hit with the kids who see them:

usH9oaC.jpg

Of course if they're gonna be taking them home when they leave you've got charger issues to worry about, so an added expense. It probably goes without saying but I'd make sure mom and dad are okay with them bringing that sort of gear home.

If you're determined to stick with a "normal AA" light, how about those cheap Sipik SK68 lights that are all over the place, like this one? You can buy those for about nothing, strip them empty and put better components in.

Last edited:

Mobileschoney

Newly Enlightened