Changing LEDs on a M 43 Noctigan - how to do?

plata0190

Enlightened
Hi, What about modding leds on a flashlight? I wanna do this but have to inform well and figure out how to do without damaging something.

- Which is a better solution to solder new LEDs on the MCPCB? Heating up the board touching its girth with a soldering iron, or heating up the bottom of the board by a reflow method using a heating gun at 250-350 C°? It's safe enought as rhe main fact I'm suspecting with is that that's method may burn the bottom copper or printed circuit of the board?

- For the tin, I saw on youtube some vids where people uses a sort of grease instead the classic tin filament. What is its purpose?
How much tin have to put on or the pre existent one is enough?

That's all for the moment, please give me some suggestions. I'm a newbie in this ambit ;)
The flashlight is the M43 noctigan, so you can see online its pics. I think that only 35x35 and 37x37 mm packages are compatible so going to replace with something with a warm tint as Cree XPG, Osram Oslon, or Lumileds TX, T

Last edited:

plata0190

Enlightened
I red quikly and there are many suggestions - that's good, but before starting I wanna know exactly some particulars:
- pre existent tin is enought to solder new LEDs?
- may I use the standard filament tin or the soldering tin grease is something more aimed for MCPCBs?
- does the heat produced by the heat gun, burns on the bottom copper board? and at which distance is safer to keep it during the heating up?

keep in mind that the only one soldering iron that I own is a cheap 40W (10$) and is not able to desold even the +/- wires blob, I think due to the dissipating heat from the pad board.
I bought this heat gun, let me know if is good for doing this work?
http://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B00NM8IEXW/

Thank you!

Last edited:

plata0190

Enlightened
last question: