Maglite....why?

kineticwash

Newly Enlightened
Greetings,

I'm a newbie here, so pardon my ignorance. Growing up, I learned that Maglites were the "best" torch around. Well, not so much learned, but assumed. I'm wondering if any of the light aficionados on this sight still carry a maglite. If so, why? Or are they just a product for the uninformed masses?

I'm confused as to where they would fit,if at all, in a savvy group like this. Enlighten me! :thinking:

TYVM,

KW

Tac Gunner

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think for most of us, they are a suitable modding platform. Whether it's just a simple drop in from malkoff or a lumen monster drop in from Adventure Sport done right they work really well.

For the most part though, Maglite is a trusted name with a great reputation for people who just need a simple light and go to Walmart or Lowe's to get a light. Overall they are a god brand, just don't have what most of us here look for such as constant current regulated, neutral tint, moonlight, etc. Also once you know more about lights, you can find lights less than half the size of a 2C mag that will outperform a 4D mag

yellow

Flashlight Enthusiast
the "best" torch around.
difficult,
because output power wise / size to power wise / handling wise / ... / it was SureFire that ate Maglite,
(and a few other makers, too)
but Mag was the "best" in the "normal" price department
(considered the - for some - "high" price is/was "normal" ... compared to SF, for example)
;)
... PS: today none of both are any good anymore, they "only" are very good platforms for modding

dmattaponi

Enlightened