Fenix E05 vs Inova XS

bryan123

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I'm a newbie and this is my first question. I'm purchasing some flashlights because we had a power failure a week ago and I relied on the flashlight mode on my Droid Maxx to help me locate and light my candles.

I visited my local REI in Reading MA and saw the two "mini" AAA keychain flashlights, The Fenix E05 and the Inova XS. I want to buy one of these to carry on my keychain with my Leatherman Micra or SAK Cadet. At max brightness they are similar at 85 vs 80 Lumens. So far I'm partial to the Fenix because it can stand on a flat surface like a candle. I also like the way that it cycles from low to medium to high as opposed to the Inova's high to low. The Inova claims significantly longer battery life, longer distance, and could be made to stand like a candle by standing it on a 5/8" split ring.

I watched a video on YouTube comparing both of them and the author used terms like hot spots, throw and spillage that I haven't learned yet.

Those of you who have used both, which would you prefer?

Thanks,

Bryan

TMedina

Flashlight Enthusiast
The E05 is regulated - which means it will put out a consistent rate of light over a given period. The Inova XS is unregulated, which means it puts out a diminishing return.

The Inova does have more throw (the light uses a tighter beam and seems to project further) than the E05, but that doesn't mean all that much for me - a keychain light is meant for close quarters work.

To be perfectly candid, I'd go with a Fenix E01 for keychain duty. It's only rated to 13 lumens, but in a blackout, that's more than enough. It's also virtually indestructible.

But between the E05 and the Inova, I'd take the E05. I prefer regulation in my lights, and the low mode will be a lot more useful than you might think.

Illum

Flashaholic