LED Circuit Help

Matt L. Moyer

Newly Enlightened
I have looked at this forum many times and have finally registered!!! I DIY hunting lights for personal use and I am really 'green' w/ LEDs, but I am learning.

I want to build a light with a high/low option and need help w/ several things (forgive my crude drawing, I am not an electrician or engineer by trade, experience, or education...LOL)

LiON 11.1v 2.6AHà on/offà10v2.1AH constant current Driverà SPDT(high 2.1AH) à3.2v LED
Same SPDT (low) à??? (1.0AH)àSame 3.2v LED

I want the 'low' side of the SPDT switch to power only 1.0AH to the LED. Will this work? What resistor do need? Is there a better or simpler way to do it?

Thanks in advance,

Matt

LiON
11.1v 2.6AH

peter yetman

Flashlight Enthusiast
Matt there's no drawing showing.
Also do you really mean AH this means a number of amps pullied over an hour, it's a measure of capacity rather than flow. Straight amps will give you an idea of the current flow to the Led,. Have a look at the numbers and get the drawing up and we can help.
P

Last edited:

Matt L. Moyer

Newly Enlightened
LiON 11.1v 2.6AHà on/offà10v 2100ma constant current Driverà SPDT(high 2100ma) à3.2v LED
..........................................................................................................Same SPDT (low) à??? (1000ma)àSame 3.2v LED

Sorry - this was my crude drawing. I want to use a SPDT toggle switch where the common pole is 2100ma coming from the driver and one of the out going poles is 2100ma to the LED and the other out going pole goes through a resistor to provide 1000ma to the LED. Basically make an 'on/on' switch (high/low).

Will this work or is there a better way? What resistor do I need to reduce 2100 to 1000? Will the resistor still allow for 3.2v to power the LED?

Again, I apologize for my 'ignorance' and I am grateful for any help.

Thanks,

Matt

DIWdiver

Flashlight Enthusiast
Peter, the text IS the drawing.