MicroPuck :)

StoneDog

Flashlight Enthusiast
Over the weekend I built a simple (crude) drop-in module for mini-mags out of a micropuck and a spare R2H. It was pretty easy and I'm really impressed with the output - more than I would've thought given that the MP basically drives a 1w at spec.

Jon

XtremePyro

Newly Enlightened
Would you mind elaborating a little on how you made this module? Im new to all of this and was considering trying the micropuck.
Also you said it drives the 1w at spec
which is around 350 ma right?
I was told that you can overrun an 1 w up to 700ma.
What are the adverse affects of this or are there any if you provide adequate heatsinking?

Tim M.

Imworking

Newly Enlightened
I have a configuration like this in my mini mini mag. I had it in a 2AA mini mag but the way I constructed it, I was afraid it was going to melt the LS. Its one of my favorite lights. Coupled with a mag reflector sanded down to produce a nice tiny hotspot with excellent side spill and excellent throw.

StoneDog

Flashlight Enthusiast
First let me say that I didn't really do anything fancy and had I not purchased a number of the real things Dat2Zip's Sandwich Shoppe I wouldn't have had a clue... I would still recommend Dat2Zip's modules over these because they are more efficient and offer better output (plus they are built very well).

Anyway, I made it all by hand with a file and sandpaper, handheld drill, bench vise, a dremel tool with aliminum-oxide(?) grinding stone and a soldering iron.

Materials: R2H emitter, NIBCO 1" Copper Coupling, Micropuck, thermal adhesive, regular adhesive, solder

This is what I did:

1) Cut the coupling length-wise and flattened it to a sheet in a bench vise. (I'm too cheep to buy a whole sheet of copper!!!)

2) Cut, file and sand a copper disc from the sheet such that it just barely fits into a mini-mag. Cut a smaller 1/4" round disc from the same sheet.

3) Cut the MP's -in wire to about 5/8" and very carefully solder it to the heatsink.