Better Surefire m3lt thrower? 800 or 1000 lumen?

SpyderHS08

Enlightened
Looking into getting a Surefire m3lt, which one throws better as this is what I'm after, The 1000 lumen newer version or the 800/70 lumen older version?

thanks

Sean

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think the newer version (1,000 lumen) has a different optic that produces more spill. So I would suspect you loose some throw due to that. But I don't know for sure.

WarriorOfLight

Flashlight Enthusiast
From what I know from the UB3T the optic was changed during the time the light had only 800 Lumens Output. There are 800 Lumens Version with "old" and "new" optics. I assume it is the same with the M3LT.

SpyderHS08

Enlightened
Thanks fellas, that is what I had read before as well so I went ahead and picked up the 800 lumen one that's in the marketplace right now..worked out a fair price I think, and I believe (hoping) the seller is correct that it is the more throwy optic/lens but I have no knowledge on which looks like which. There are a couple pics of it if anyone cares to share their thoughts.

Sean

Flashlight Enthusiast
Thanks fellas, that is what I had read before as well so I went ahead and picked up the 800 lumen one that's in the marketplace right now..worked out a fair price I think, and I believe (hoping) the seller is correct that it is the more throwy optic/lens but I have no knowledge on which looks like which. There are a couple pics of it if anyone cares to share their thoughts.

I looked at the pics and it does look like the older and more throwy optic.

SpyderHS08

Enlightened
Oh wow you can see right into it, good I am glad I got one of the old ones then! Should be here soon :) thanks for the info

SpyderHS08

Enlightened