Repainting a Fenix? Reflective paint?

slipnfall

Newly Enlightened
Hi Folks -

I work as an electronics tech on a factory floor, so my lights see some abuse. However the biggest risk to my flashlights is me LOSING them - I've already lost a Klarus XT11... they're dark, metal, and blend right in with a lot of machinery (and even if someone else found it, I'm sure it wouldn't be returned). The factory is dark, dingy, and a good bright flashlight is a must. I have been using the Rayovac Indestructible AA lights and Streamlight PolyPro4 temporarily, but they just don't cut it brightness wise.

So, as much as it pains me to do so, anyone out there re-paint their battery tube with something reflective? I painted an aforementioned Rayovac tube OSHA Yellow, but it certainly didn't hold up to chemicals... thinking maybe I could find a local powdercoating house to recoat a tube?

Something reflective would be GREAT. Haven't been able to find a tape that's flexible/durable about to wrap around a light though...

Thanks!

D6859

Enlightened
I lost new Thrunite TN12 last fall. I bought a replacement for it and wrapped an orange tape around the body. I got that tape from a construction site and it's really thick and durable. The light should be easier to find on the ground now.

tn12_taped.jpg

I also have a piece of paper with my contact information around the battery but regardless of that the lost TN12 hasn't returned to me.

If your going to paint the light protect the lense and connecting surfaces with a pieces of tape.

Borad

Enlightened
Choose 3m reflective materials and stick or glue it to the flat spots on the light. You may have to search for a light with the most/largest flat spots.

GaryM

Newly Enlightened
On my larger lights I have reflective tape wrapped around the body. Makes it easier to find if dropped in the dark. Mine is white, but blue, yellow, and red are also easy to find.

peter yetman

Flashlight Enthusiast