long time lurker, now newb with a question

francqua

Newly Enlightened
I've been on the outer fringes looking in, reading, and trying to learn a bit....like the title says;
long time lurker just sucking in knowledge (have small RAM...can only take in so much at a time! : ) )
Please forgive stupid newb in advance for questions that have been asked 1000's of time before and for my lack of the lingo / tech knowledge!

Decided to jump in and learn some more because :

1) some jerk stole my best (for me at the time) EDC flashlight.
I work as a repair tech in construction and need illumination almost daily to see the details of what I'm trying to fix. I'm usually inside or under something and need the light. My EDC was a LED Lenser TT that I stumbled across at a Sportsman's Warehouse in the wet and soggy Pacific NW. Try not to laugh!

I like the size of the LL TT. It was not so big as to be a pain, was easy to use in tight spaces, and it didn't take up much space to store.
I like the idea of the 3 or 4 AAA batteries. I used Lithium Ion batteries as much as possible.
The CR123 batteries around here are spendy. So I tended to stay away from that format.

For camping or walking the mutts at night I liked the flood/spot combo. Didn't/don't need SOS or strobe features. I know we each have our own cup of tea / light we like. I'm a newb...with a limited access to decent retail lights. So...

2) I need a replacement EDC flashlight with similar dimensions as the LED Lenser TT...I know there are numerous options out there.

So please learn me!
I would like to keep the flood to spot capabilities for obvious reasons.
The More lumens the better when I'm trying to fix something.
I need long run times..sometimes the repairs I do take a while.
I would like to stay with 3 or 4 AAA ( or AA ) batteries or something that can take multiple configurations.
If there is a better configuration that will give me better lumens and run times for the buck...I'm all ears!