Student needs recommendations for summer job

IlluminatingBikr

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am a freshman in high school. I am hoping to get a job this summer, but am not sure what I should start out doing. It would just be a summer job, and I would be interested in working part time. I am not sure what I should aim for, so maybe you guys can help me out.

I love math and am very good at it (currently one year ahead of schedule). I like physics and technology. I am fairly knowledgeable when it comes to computers. I most certainly would be interested in something in the flashlight-field, but I don't think there are any openings in my city at this time. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif My weak point is English. I can speak and write it just fine, but when it comes to vocab tests or essay writing, I shudder.

Any recommendations? Thanks! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Chengiz

Enlightened
Re: Student need recommendations for summer job

Find a job that is related to what you want to be doing in five years. Accept sweeping the plant floor if that is what it takes. I was talking to a guy who started 30 years ago, putting himself through school, in a machine shop. He is now the CEO of that factory (it manufactures all sorts of cool things for the military and civil aviation).

At your age there is very little available that is exciting, but hard work will lead to better things in most cases. Try to avoid something that will not lead to or help you in your future decision process.

But always have fun!

BlindedByTheLite

Flashlight Enthusiast

when i was a freshman in highschool i mowed a whole lotta lawns and shingled a whole lotta buildings.. and during harvest i picked a whole lotta potatoes. heh

when i work part time jobs i try to find something that keeps me outdoors.. now that i'm a freshman in college i sometimes get opportunities to assist guides on hikes and white water rafting expeditions.. 1 to 7 day trips..

iddibhai

Enlightened