Photography flashlights

legendofzelda

Newly Enlightened
What are some good photography flashlights?

Use cases
- light up a background
- light painting
- fill light
- key light
- rim light
- color gel over flashlight head

I'm a pro hobby photographer (just made that up).

staticx57

Flashlight Enthusiast
For everything other than light painting you are much better off with some flashgun. Flashlights don't really work well for photography. Not enough light output.

stephenk

Enlightened
Hi legendofzelda,

I'm into light painting and currently use the following lights:
LED Lenser P7QC - red, green, blue, and white light. Fast to switch between colours. 4xAAA.
LED Lenser P7.2 - great easy to use and well built zoomy, useful to adjust your "light brush".
Lumens Factory Seraph SP-6 with XP-G2 high-CRI module - I use this for warm white light 3000k.
2 x homemade LED light wands (one white, and one colour changing).

I also have a CPFitalia Cometa on the way, for even brighter zoomy-ness, if it doesn't short out!

legendofzelda

Newly Enlightened
Flood/throw combination is my preference. just ordered the tn36utvn from vin. Waiting on it to be built.

Hope it does the trick.

Stephenk I am into light painting actually.

StorminMatt

Flashlight Enthusiast