Old P6 led upgrade....NOTHING works!

hh4whiskey

Newly Enlightened
I've searched/lurked here for weeks. Tried every bit of advice I've seen. Tested, re-tested. I can't get ANY LES drop in to work on my old P6s. I've cut springs, removed springs, wrapped foil, meter tested, jumped wires, switched bodies/heads? I can throw the old PJ-3 Laser Products heads in, and they run fine. I've got some cheap LEDs and some good ones. They all run in other, 18650 lights, but not in the 2x123 lights, even though rated to beyond 6v. I'm new to the flashlight tinkering, but not to electronics in general, and the ONLY idea I have is: the ratings on these LEDs are off and they're incompatible with 6V? Need any help. FWIW, these are old weapon light bodies from 351/651 Beretta mounts, but convinced that's irrelevant?

Thanks.

Kestrel

Flashaholic
Not an expert on the old weaponlights, but aren't they configured for opposite polarity?
And maybe a related continuity issue ...

If that is the situation, most if not all LED modules will not operate in that config.
Other more informed answers incoming for sure. :)
And BTW, :welcome:

Last edited:

m4a1usr

Enlightened
Kestrel is probably right. If the lights in question are the old Nitrolon bodied pistol mount versions the center contact is the negative side of the battery. I tried to figure out how to pull one apart to switch the polarities but it looked to be way more work than I wanted to spend on. And the batt holder design doesn't allow for the batteries to just be turned around 180 deg.

hh4whiskey

Newly Enlightened
They're alloy bodied, identical to any other 6P, as far as I can tell. The batteries will reverse... and Holy Crap! That works! Never even occurred to me. Thanks for that idea! I was about ready to hang them on the range. lol

I still can't get them to work in the solarforce bodies i have, but playing with copper tape now.

Reversed. Who knew?

bykfixer

Flashaholic