Outbid with 3 seconds to go.

bykfixer

Flashaholic
Ugh! I was watching a nice little light on the bay since Thursday. I placed a bid, op out bid me.
Fair enough I figure.
I bid until I was the highest.
And placed a max bid that if op surpassed for this non working light, so be it.

So I'm watching the clock wind down until "10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, YOU'VE BEEN OUTBID"
Are you kidding me?

I'm new to the auction thing and have passed up a bunch of nice items that somebody else seemingly wanted more. Gentleman thing and all.

Ironically the item 'stolen' at the last second was a jewel thief light.
Hey op.... I have a nicer (working) one on the way for less than half what you paid to steal it from me. lol.

Anybody else been outbid with seconds left?

MaxStatic

Newly Enlightened
That would be what is referred to as sniping. They even have apps/scripts that will do it for you.

Ladd

Enlightened
Occasionally, rare or unique items show up on eBay.

These items will attract competitive bids and most likely will be "sniped" at the last minute.

If you really must have one of these items from eBay you must place your bid during the last two or three seconds.

Buyers who troll ebay for rare items use "sniper" software to place these bids.

But eBay provides a countdown clock, so you can also place bids at the last second manually (with a little practice.)

For these rare or in-demand items, do not place bids in advance, this will only drive up the final price.

Nobody says it's fair, but that is how it works.

Last edited:

recDNA

Flashaholic
Friend told me if you place a bid $100 more than top bid you actually only pay a dollar more than top bid. Is that true?

Woods Walker

The Wood is cut, The Bacon is cooked, Now it’s tim
The term is sniping. Edit. Forgot to add some auctions have a 15 minute anti sniping rule. A bid within the last 15 min will extend the auction another 15 min or something like that however I don't think that is an option on flea bay.

Last edited:

ven