Help-Custom build isn't working! (3XP-Ls & Buck Driver in Convoy L2)

mattar12

Newly Enlightened
I'm relatively new to building flashlights. This is my 5th light...and it's not working! I'm pretty sure it's a compatibility problem, but I want to understand why. Any help is appreciated.

Here's what I'm using (all purchased from Mountain Electronics):

I was sure this would work no problem, which tells me that I'm probably missing something essential to continuing in this hobby...Thanks for your help!

m4a1usr

Enlightened
Well your assumption about it all working combined is sound. There doesn't appear to be any compatibility issues. Lots of places to start trouble shooting. I would begin using the process of elimination. I'd begin with the driver and the MCPCB first. The triple should be as easy as it can get. Connect a 3v source directly to the input. This can be a CR123 with a wire soldered to each end. If you don't have one already, make one. They are invaluable when needed.

I'd check the output of the driver next. Using a single 18650 do the same thing as with the MCPCB but connect a DMM to the driver output. You don't need an LED connected but one could be. It should be showing something like 3 to 3.7v output. Soldering on an adapter ring has been known to kill drivers. I know I certainly have done it myself. All depends on how much heat you put into the driver when soldering.