Which small inexpensive headlamp?

LightHearted

Enlightened
I'm thinking bout the PT Aurora or the Petzl Tikka Plus. Seems like the Tikka is a bit brighter and the PT a bit less expensive. I wonder if the triangular beam configuration on the PT would make the light output any smoother than the inline 4 of the Petzl. Anyone have experience with either of these lights or know of any good deals on these right now?

Thanks,
Ken

JJHitt

Enlightened
I happen to be wearing my PT Aurora as I type this... I love this light (It's not quite daylight and SWMBO is still asleep).

I've no experience with the Tikka, but the Aurora does have a smooth, almost too narrow, beam without artifacts. Niceest thing about the Aurora is it is comfortable. My first headlamp was the Everyready 15 dollar light and the PT is a lot more comfortable than the Everready.

The Petzl probably puts out more light, but as I use mine primarily for sneaking around indoors, I keep the Aurora on the lowest setting.

charliek

Enlightened
I don't think the Tikka has brightness settings...
I own an Aurora.. it is ALWAYS packed with me on camping trips. Great light- great price.

I'd put mine on too, but it's daylight and I have no idea what a SWMBO is...

Flying Turtle

Flashaholic
I have not seen or tried this light, but the CMG Tracer seems to be available at REI.com. Very small, one AAA, and two LEDs. I think they wanted $24.95.

JohnJ80

Enlightened
I have had both. I really like the PT aurora better. The Tikka isn't waterproof (but maybe the new one is). But I like the switch arrangement better. It is way bright for reading and close work which is all you can use either for.

I carry one in my briefcase all the time especially when travelling.

The thing I like best about the Tikka is the interchangeable lens so that you can have white, red or green. Nice feature.

If I had to pick - it would be PT each time though.

j

Sigman

* The Arctic Moderator *
[ QUOTE ]