Is a Surefire L4 for me?

chipper

Newly Enlightened
Firstly, what a site I've stumbled across!!
I'm after a flashlight to use in my job as a Firefighter, I currently carry an AA Maglite in my tunic but realise I can do alot better than this.
After reading loads of reviews I figure my best choice is a Surefire L4, would those with more knowledge in these matters confirm that this would be one of the best choices for me.
Also I live in England, are there any places to get one over here or do I have to import one from the US?
Thanks,
Chipper

Rothrandir

Flashaholic
i'm not sure what would make a good light for a firefighter, but i've heard that pelicans are used a lot by firefighters right?

the surefire l4 has a very broad beam, which might not work that well in smoke, compared to a narrowbeamed flashlight...

of course i know very little about using flashlights in smokey inviroments, so i'll leave further comments to the professionals /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Frenchyled

Flashaholic*
Welcome aboard chipper /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Yes, it's definetely yes, The L4 is for you. Maglight vs L4 it's like day vs night.
You have to consider buying pilas batteries 168S + charger, and you'll have a complete rechargeable Led 5w solution.
Pila dealer
I'm french user, I imported the L4, but you have a better solution with KSBMAN, contact him for more information, it's a great man and no surprise with him /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thumbsup.gif
Ksbman
I hope these informations help you /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Sean

Flashlight Enthusiast
If you ask FC, who is a firefighter too, he would say the L6.

(Right FC?)