NCR18650 Discolored. Leaking?

lolmonkies

Newly Enlightened
I am stripping cells from old batteries. I have a large quantity (about 300 pounds) of 4 cell packs with most containing Panasonic NCR18650 2900mah cells. A good portion of the cells have some brown flaky stuff on the positive terminal that almost looks like the cells vented. They all came out of the packs though with 3.4+ volts. I charged about 100 or so of them now to 4.2v then discharged to 2.8 and they still have 2700-2800mah capacity. The discoloring on the terminal has me slightly concerned though. Out of 100 cells, not one tested bad, none got hot, none had high resistance, etc. Is it possible these cells were just overcharged at one point or got too hot for some reason? I assume they're fine to use considering I tested 100 of them thoroughly and the outcome was good?

Link: http://industrial.panasonic.com/cdbs/www-data/pdf2/ACI4000/ACI4000CE17.pdf

Last edited:

blah9

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm no expert so I'm going to stick around and see that other people say but that doesn't look good to me.

Wendee

Enlightened
I'm going to stick around too. I'd like to see what people reply, just in case I see the same on one of my batteries. I'd be afraid to use the battery in the picture, that's for sure. I'm new to 18650 though.

lolmonkies

Newly Enlightened
I'm new too, hence why I'm seeking advise. They seem to be working great though. I re/discharged a few of them several times now just to see what would happen. No problems at all. The previous application for these packs was robotics. I think they were heavily abused and maybe overheated due to high discharge or overcharging.

Lynx_Arc

Flashaholic