Ultrafire UV 400nm to 365nm Conversion

slikhead

Newly Enlightened
Hi, i am really new to all of this and wondered if someone might be able to help me out. I purchased an Ultrafire WF501B to find fluorescent minerals at night, but knowing a bit more about it, i realize it must be putting out UV light around 400 nm rather than the required 365 nm. Could someone please let me know what might be involved in converting it to 365nm?

thanks...slikhead

Dr. Mario

Enlightened
If you want true 365nm, I'd recommend to go with Nichia NVSU233A LED and of course, you will definitely get better result with the Wood's Glass however it may be hard to find one cut at 32mm. You might be better off getting a Convoy S2 host as 20mm Wood's Glass are easily available now. Why Wood's Glass? Any and all 365nm LEDs emit good amount of purple or ghostly greenish-grey light (Nichia LEDs are a lot better, only purple light, with good amount of 365nm UV), so those visible spectral contents has to be killed before you can notice any fluorescence clearly. I went the same route as you until I found the original LED perform rather craptastic so I modded it with NVSU233A LED however the Wood's Glass of this size is too expensive so it's now my glue curer lamp (same WF-501b host). The round LED MCPCB also has to be 16mm too. Be sure to cover center pad with Kapton tape as the NVSU233A LED has two pad while the MCPCB in question has three pads, if you have to use Cree XP-G version.

BTW, I have a Nichia NVSU233A blacklight flashlight made into a Convoy S2 host along with blacklight filter installed (my icon is also a picture of this flashlight too). Really nice handle to it and rather slim too.

Last edited:

CelticCross74

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would not worry about it. It is all actually about how much UV makes it through the lens. I honestly doubt you would be able to tell the difference between 365nm and 400.

Dr. Mario

Enlightened