Surefire G2x: Pro vs LE. If you could only pick one?

buddy0329

Newly Enlightened
Hi folks, newbie here.

We've had a 6PX at home for 3 years now as a primary flashlight that's backed up by a 5 year old Maglite 4-D LED. I originally bought the 6PX so I could light up the night if necessary when walking the dog. Love the dual 15/320 lumen modes. I'm definitely not interested in more modes in my lights.

Currently building out a new bag to keep with me at work or in the car. I ordered two new lights, a G2x Pro as a primary, and a Titan plus as a backup. I chose the the Titan Plus because it runs on AAAs; i wear a medical device that runs on AAAs hence I always have a couple of those spares on me.

After ordering the G2x Pro I discovered that Surefire also sells an LE model that has a different emitter with more spill, and comes on in full power on the first click instead of the second click.

I'm trying to figure out if the LE model would be a better light to keep with me in the car vs the Pro. Any help form the community on this one would be much appreciated!

etc

Flashlight Enthusiast
pro is spaced exactly right and in the right sequence IMO.

99% of the time the 15 lumen mode is sufficient and you get 300+ lumens when you need it.

Dr. Strangelove

Enlightened
Which do you use more, 15 or 320? If you use 15 more, say 90% of the time, then the Pro would suit you better. If you use 320 most of the time, then try the LE. Also think if you need immediate access to high or if it's ok to click through low first. If you don't need immediate access, you won't be blinded by the high burst before you switch to low if you buy a Pro.

Last edited:

buddy0329

Newly Enlightened
I think you're right about the sequencing as I use it now, but would that necessarily be the case in a SHTF situation? Was also curious about the broader beam and whether the lumen increase would help to keep the throw decent as it is now.