Internet bandwidth tiers and being jerked around by ISPs ...

martinaee

Flashlight Enthusiast
So I'm a little annoyed right now to say the least... We pay for an "up to" 12Mbps tier U-verse DSL internet connection. I've lived in the apartment I'm in for about 2 years. When I moved in the connection was great and consistently close to 11Mbps or so. Fast forward 2 years and the connection is ALWAYS just over 6Mbps. My connection to my PC is wired via Ethernet into the modem and nothing else is using bandwidth in my apartment when I check.

I'm not a tech expert for networking/infrastructure/ISP by any means, but I'm also far from being computer and tech illiterate. I had an awesome AT&T tech in my place a week ago to fix a disconnected connection and he did that no problem, but he also made it plain that there is no reason I should be consistently getting just over 6Mbps on a line where I know (and have seen) speeds up to 10-11Mbps in the past. Nothing has changed in terms of my lines or infrastructure in my apartment building.

I was on the phone with a rep/support guy in India for AT&T for an hour and after they had me run a their own speed check where I marked in at 6.21Mbps he promptly told me that technically I'm still in the range for "up to 12mbps" and that 6.1Mbps is the minimum for that range...

-----> So if I know speeds can and have been in the past easily up in the 10-11Mbps range and now any time I check it's consistently just over 6Mbps then (and I asked him this) is there any reason why I shouldn't be able to drop to the lower tier speed that is "up to" 6Mbps and consistently get exactly 6Mbps on a wired connection with no other devices using bandwidth?
It literally is the same infrastructure, right? He gave me bullshit about how if I dropped to that tier the minimum speed would be something like 2Mbps. Is there literally nothing I can do or should I keep calling or tell them my speed IS lower than 6.1Mbps and ...