What led searchlight is actually useful for it designed purpose

toolboy

Newly Enlightened
I am a professional firefighter for the last 21 years and use multiple lights for real world applications where my emergencies last more than 3 minutes. I have used a xeray 75 watt Barnburner burner hid for the last 10 years and sold it replace it with the xevision lx70, but when the $2500 price tag came out it made me pause. I use fenix flashlights on my fire helmet, (2) uc 35 and (1) hl60, all plug in rechargeable. These have worked well and the plug in feature has become a must as we have no time to swap batteries when we get back from a call, just plug in to top off the lights.
I have been considering a led searchlight replacement for my big light but three things are a must. First the light must have a large spill but yet reach as well. Most leds I see are one or the other, flood or spot. But the second "must" is a long runtime at high level >4000 lumen for at least an hour. Most led lights, manufacturer or modded suffer from heat step down after only a couple minutes. The third is a plug in rechargeable feature due to the nature of its use, sometime a little and other times a much longer period but it must aways be max charged and available. I have really considered the Fenix rc40 2016 but am keeping my options open. I have looked at the very nice modded lights by vinh but it always comes down to use ability. Size isn't an issue, performance is. Is there any led available, stock or modded that meets my needs. Otherwise probably gonna step up for the xevision hid light or try an rc40 2016 as it is relatively cheap in comparison. The hid, while throwing a mile, or at least a half mile literally, has impressive spill and runs an hour at its insane output level. I know it costs several times more than the leds I have seen, but performance is a must. Any other options out there I have missed???

richbuff

Flashlight Enthusiast