Best 14500 cells for Fenix LD11 ?

cdm-dude

Newly Enlightened
Hi! New here.

This is not entirely "battery-specific", so I hope I did the right thing by posting in this forum.

So, in total, I've had 5 or 6 flashlights (and 1 headlamp) made by Fenix. So far I've been doing just fine with the standard AA and AAA batteries.
However, now that I'm about to get the LD11, the time has come for me to step into the Li-ion world. Since I am completely new to this kind of cells, I have a few questions:

1. What's usually the shelf life (approx.) with the 14500's? And by "shelf life" I mean: how long do they stay charged when not in use? Days? Weeks? Months?
2. Which brand should I buy for the LD11 flashlight? And this is a big one....

First of all, from what I understand, not every type of 14500 cells can be used with the LD11 because of the weird thing Fenix have done with the positive terminal contact. Which means that the flat-tops are out. Unfortunately, this kinda limits my choice but does it really? Because I simply want to get the best 14500 cells for this flashlight (and my requirements).

a. Longest stand-by time: Cells that retain their charge the longest (when not in use). This is not my top priority but it is up there.
b. Highest capacity (longest burn time).
c. Best voltage for the LD11. I've seen ones that are 3.6V, 3.7V, others that are 4.2V... And I don't even know if it would make any difference in the LD11. I'm new to this, so, sorry for the stupid question.
d. Protection circuitry. I know that this feature may somewhat limit the cell's capabilities but it is a must.
e. Longest battery life. I don't want cells that expire after 2 years of "no-use" or just 50 cycles.
f. Price: Any (within reason). I want the best, premium stuff, as long as the price isn't "stupid high". *I need a pack of at least 2 but preferably 4 AA, 14500 cells.
g. Availability: Online, preferably ebay but I am willing to go the extra mile to get what I need from wherever else.