AAA flashlights vs the world

chillinn

Flashlight Enthusiast
I started collecting and learning about flashlights and cells with AAA/10440 lights. Eventually, I think I graduated myself to larger lights. Armed with the knowledge gained by browsing CPF and experience with AAA lights and cells, I felt I was now equiped with the ability to choose some nice lights at the next level: the AA flashlight! But really any cell size other than AAA would be an advancement.

Or so I thought.

My experience searching for desireable AA flashlights helped lead me to conclude that the trend I was made aware after first joining CPF (by I forget who) is more or less true, that smaller lights generally are not as bright, tend to cost more by weight, yet they have more of the most desired qualities, such as more often having constant current drivers or warmer tinted, and/or higher CRI emitters. Usually, the hosts are also more attractive, more "flashlight-looking," than their non-AAA competitors, where designers seemed to have abandoned all ordinary designs that look like a flashlight, and instead the hosts tend to look like odd and knarly Hollywood props from a bad low budget sci fi movie.

Usually when I have seen OPs similar to this, it is with an attitude "my AAA light is the best, taking all comers for the Pepsi Challenge to see if your AAA light or non-AAA light can compete!" I am sort of saying the same thing, except without the positive enthusiasm. I am rather annoyed to discover the best lights made, all top quality emitter and driver and top material choices considered, are these cute little overpriced AAA flashlights.

Please argue with me and prove to me I am wrong. Thank you.

Last edited:

holygeez03

Enlightened
I would argue with you... if I had any idea what your argument is?

Are you trying to say that there aren't any good lights outside of the AAA format? Because if so, well, that's just crazy...

Last edited:

chillinn

Flashlight Enthusiast