Changing colours on the Photon 2?

Chingyul

Newly Enlightened
Hi, i'm really new to LED lights and this board. I was just wondering what type of LED you need use to change from a white photon to make a turquoise. And also where can i get this? Does it have to be a authentic LRI LED with the "gold leads"?

Chris M.

Flashlight Enthusiast
Dan- the LED in the turquoise LED is a 40 degree (is that right or is it 50?) Nichia model, I don`t know the part number but I know someone round here who probably does (craig- that`s you
wink.gif
). Finding those leds is difficult, I`m after some myself in the not so distant future (but thats another thread) so my best guess would be to contact LRI. I don`t know what they charge for them but if it`s under, I`d say $5 then for one it`s probably OK. There are however, other types of turquoise led out there that you may like to try , the narrow and odd-beam-shape 20100mcd Nichias (a few online places in US, and maybe elsewhere, stock them) and a 3500-ish mcd 15 degree one from http://theledlight.com, though they probably aren`t near as bright as the one used in the Photon, more like the Infinity light.

The gold plated leads in Photon lights are just a nice touch to improve contact reliability caused by oxidisation, normal Nichia leds don`t have this but should be just fine in their place, maybe needing occasional cleaning if the light becomes too flickery after a lot of use. Shaping the new LED`s leads however, is the tricky part. I`ve not done it myself (yet) but I know you do have to be very careful to get them exactly the same shape as the led you are replacing, or oyu`ll have problems with the light staying on all the time, or not coming on at all.
Hope this helps...

smile.gif

by the way if you do get one, please let me know what LRI charge for those turquoise leds
grin.gif
I`d be interested to know.

The_LED_Museum

*Retired*