Nitecore R40 review (image heavy)

Enderman

Enlightened
*if a moderator would like to move this to the reviews section, please feel free*

Welcome everyone!
About a month ago I was doing my weekly browse of flashlight websites and came across the R40 which had recently been announced but was not yet available.
The specs were exactly what I was looking for and the renders looked beautiful so I was planning to buy it, but then I found out that you can apply to review a flashlight.
That means this flashlight was provided at no cost from Nitecore, however all opinions in this post are completely honest and my own.
I'm not a professional flashlight reviewer with advanced runtime and output charts, but I have done flashlight and other product reviews on youtube so I mostly know what I'm doing :laughing:

Hopefully you guys enjoy and let me know if you have any questions/concerns/suggestions! :)
This is my first time doing a review on a forum rather than YouTube, so please let me know if anything needs to be changed.
4wPiO9T.jpg

Classic black and yellow box, molded plastic interior padding, all information on it can be found on the R40 product page.

Main specs:
Turbo: 1000lm - 1h30min
High: 420lm - 4h30min
Mid: 200lm - 10h30min
Low: 50lm - 32h
Ultra Low: 1lm - 1000h
Strobe, SOS, Signal modes
Beam distance: 520m
Intensity: 67700cd
Dimensions: 154mm long, 40mm diameter
Weight: 298g with battery
Battery: proprietary 26650 5000mAh
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The flashlight itself:
7249N2h.jpg

zGIgvfk.jpg

A beautiful piece of black anodized aluminum, probably the best looking flashlight of this size IMO.

NpPP6XF.jpg

The notches around the head look cool, but they do not prevent the flashlight from rolling because they are smaller than the head diameter.