PC Related - nearly had another heart attack

Charles Bradshaw

Flashlight Enthusiast
I had turned off my computer via normal shutdown. When I turned it on, I had the nasty experience of hearing Error beeps and the BIOS Checksum error message on the screen. This is a new motherboard. After several resets, I decided to turn it off and wait a bit. I turned it back on and it booted fine. however, when I got into my OS, I noticed the time was set at midnight, January 1, 2002. So I rebooted and reset the time in BIOS and now everything is okay.

Anyone else experience this???

nisshin

Enlightened
Although I am no expert, I will try to hazard
a guess: perhaps one of your memory chips is
flaky. Some computers, in order to gain maximum
speed, copy their BIOS from ROM (read-only
memory) to RAM (random-access memory). If the
copy somehow went wrong, then the checksum
test would fail (checksums are a quick way to
see if copied data matches the original).
Perhaps it could be temperature related
memory failure? This can account for the
boot-up process working most of the time.

nisshin

Charles Bradshaw

Flashlight Enthusiast
Thanks. Could be. Who knows. It is the first time I have experienced this one. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon3.gif

I normally leave my system on, though I turn my TFT monitor off when I leave the computer for a while.

Bravo25

Flashlight Enthusiast
Make sure everything is seated well. The heat can cause things to expand, and while they may contact well enough to keep going, on a reboot or shutdown they cause problems.

James S

Flashlight Enthusiast
bad memory chips are a lot more common than people think. Most systems to a memory check on boot and will fail to startup, or at least flash error messages at you.