Correct way to Wire Rear Fogs?

Hamilton Felix

Enlightened
Is there a standard or even traditional way to wire a rear fog light? I was thinking of options:

1. Completely independent circuit, manually on or off.

2. Completely independent switch, functions with low beams, as do front fogs.

3. Tag onto a front fog circuit, so functions when front fogs and low beams are on.

I'm leaning toward #2 with a distinct indicator so I don't forget it. I do tend to wire most of my auxiliary lights with double throw, center off switches, so I have "On-Off-Auto," with manual "On" being for aiming, testing, etc. while "Auto" is for normal use, driving lights with high beams, fog or auxiliary low beams with low.

I just realized I've no experience with the correct way to set up a rear fog. :confused: I realize it's important in thick fog, but should not be forgotten or left on when there is no fog. European forum members probably know the answer. But I'll appreciate any advice I receive.

smokinbasser

Flashlight Enthusiast
Just thinking here but there might be DOT laws prohibiting this due to vehicles behind you thinking a car is about to hit them and taking evasive action right into a head on collision. I would worry about what is in front of you rather than behind you. Just my opinion!

fastgun

Enlightened
It would be personal preference in many places. As an FYI California has the requirement that rear fog(s) may be turned on only when headlights are on and there must be a switch to turn them off while headlights are still on. This state also specifies an amber pilot light to indicate when the rear fog is turned on. Most states are silent and the others that I have read simply state that rear fogs are allowed. As always check your state.

Last edited:

Alaric Darconville

Flashlight Enthusiast
Just thinking here but there might be DOT laws prohibiting this
Rear fog lamps are not Federally-regulated; their use is regulated by States.