Tactical modes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Psychomodo

Enlightened
Whoopee - I've just received my Arc4+ (second). Please pardon my ignorance, as I am new to all this, but what are the "Tactical Modes" used for?
Also, I think I have been sent a "first" rather than a "second" as I can't fault this at all!!!

jtice

Flashaholic
Pure Tact Mode= Light cannot be "latched" on. It will ONLY momentary on. (comes on while pressed)

Semi= ... hmm ah, I am not totally sure. I think thats the default mode.
Where it will do the momentary while pressed, but can also be "latched" on when tapped, or clicked once.

jtice

Flashaholic
Well, if you turned Pure Tactical on, you can turn it off, by simply doing what you did to turn it on.
Just go and set it again, and it will turn it off.

A full description and directions can be found in the FAQ thread,,, its at the top of this Arc section.

georget98

Enlightened
Semi-Momentary Tactical Mode 1: Light operation is normally momentary but it can be latched on with a double click. The mode can be toggled on and off in the menu.

Pure-Momentary Tactical Mode 2: Light operation is always momentary. The mode can only be reset by resetting the light (remove battery for 2 minutes)

Now can somebody tell me what about them is "tactical"? For that matter what is a Tactical Light in general?

MoonRise

Enlightened
Umm, not quite correct jtice.

Normal "out of the box" mode = press for momentary on, click for latched on.

Semi-Tactical Mode = press for momentary on, double-click for latched on. Setting is remembered across resets, and you can still get into the menus.

Tactical Mode = Will not latch on, momentary mode only. Must reset the light (battery out for 120 seconds) to change out of pure tactical mode. Cannot enter menus or change any settings once in tactical Mode.

You really have to read the full FAQ for this light to do the 'fancy' stuff.

My current settings are: ARC4+, semi-tactical, force primary, primary=10, secondary=4