Advice: Dimmable flashlight driver that can be controlled via microcontroller

Pseudowok

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

I am looking for recommendations for an LED driver. I'm trying to create a dimmable, single, high-intensity led setup for use in lanterns. I would like to control the dimmer using a microcontroller, which I assume means the driver needs a PWM input. I have been playing around with an arduino, and have a nice flicker effect using PWM, so I would like to be able to replicate it with a nice cheap microcontroller. I have a bunch of old lanterns that I want to retrofit, so cost is a concern.

I am new to electronics in general, which is why I'm trying to find something somewhat ready-made. I don't mind wiring multiple parts together, but I'd rather not be constructing things from scratch / ordering custom parts. I've been lurking on these forums looking for insight, but mostly feel like I'm spinning my wheels.

I want to use a microcontroller so I can:

1. Create fluctuations in the light, like a candle
2. Control the overall brightness, so the fluctuations will occur around a set brightness.

Required:
  1. Microcontroller built in OR the ability to dim using an external microcontroller. I want to be able to control the overall brightness with a potentiometer, and have the circuit control the flickering around that set intensity.

Preferred:
  1. Run off a single AA battery
    • If it has a built in boost, great, but I am happy to add a boost circuit in. I could also go Li-ion. It seems like most of the drivers I have found that are dimmable require at least 5v. It hasn't been clear to me if any of them take PWM input, so I can't get the flickering effect.
  2. Small
    • Ideally this will be in a compact format so I just pop it into a lantern in place of a candle / oil reservoir.
  3. Cheap