Arc4+ tail cap mod, version 1.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

cy

Flashaholic
Arc4+ tail cap mod, version 1.1

As a newbie, this is my first attempt at sending out a mod to CPF. So please bear with me as improvements progress. I need to first give credit to McGizmo who came up with version 1. My small contribution is just for improvements.

Based upon many feedbacks, lack of tactile feeling and accidental switching on is climbing to the top of the heap for Arc4+ concerns. This simple mod hopefully will address both.

Edit: IMHO Arc4's greatest weakness is surving a direct hit on the button. The front switch may survive a million cycles, but unless I'm way wrong. It's not designed to survive a multi-G hit. The upcoming protected tailcap hopefully in April will adress this important issue. Or the mod below will take care of this issue as well.

1. Remove original rubber tail cap, plunger, thin washer w/prongs & spring. Put these aside in case you want to restore original switch.
2. Original rubber cap is .075, thin washer w/prongs is .016, totaling .091 in. You must reinsert rubber material of .091 to maintain original waterproof specs.
3. Find .90 rubber and/or silicon sheet. Cut out with punch or scissor a 3/4in disc.
4. Find an aluminum rivet with a dome head dimension of .375 x .090. Clamp rivet in vise and carefully cut off head with hacksaw. Then take sawed off head and sand smooth the flat bottom of rivet head. You will end up with a domed plunger .375 x .090.
5. Re-assemble by inserting new rubber disc in aluminum tail cap. Then place domed plunger round side against the gold disc centered. Screw down cap w/disc keeping plunger centered. Tighten to original specs. The rubber should slightly bulge out. This is necessary to maintain a slight pressure on the gold disc for battery contact. If this is not done the light will not work. The other option is to place a loose copper washer at the bottom of battery.

4+ mod.jpg

That all there is to it.