Lumens, mcd, candlepower and lux ? ? ? ?

Psychomodo

Enlightened
When looking at reviews of various light, some mention "lumens", others "mcd", "candlepower" and "lux".
I sometimes find it difficult trying to compare different lights when their "output" is in different "languages".
Are there any formulas available to enable me to calculate "mcd" into "lumens" into....etc.?
Pardon my ignorance, but I am fairly new to all this. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif
Thanks.

jbroker83

Enlightened
CP-Lumens is difficult because of some variables in testing. It's a tough thing to do. I wish there was some magical formula for measuring brightness on like a scale of 1-1000, and that's how we would rank different lights, but I'm afraid it's not that easy.

SilverFox

Flashaholic
Hello Psychomondo,

The Light Measurement Handbook is a wealth of information on this subject.
http://www.intl-light.com/handbook/registered.html

Let's start with candela's. 10 lux measured at 1 meter = 10 candela (cd).
also 10 foot candles (fc) measured at 1 foot = 10 candela (cd).
and 10 candela = 10000 milicandela (mcd).

These are the most useful measurements that are easy for us to use. All that is required is a light meter and a ruler.

Lumens refers to the total light output from the light source in all directions. It is measured in a $15000 integrating sphere that is a bit out of reach for most of us.

Candlepower and candela should be the same thing, but spotlight manufacturers inflate their numbers by 2-4 times the actual values. I am still not sure how they get away with that, but I believe they are reporting best case theoritical values.

Doug (Quickbeam) has throw and overall values for many lights. Light falls of with the square of distance, so
cd = lux * distance squared in meters, or
cd = fc * distance squared in feet