Has anybody dissected an Armytek or know what makes them rated so much tougher?

Chad Varnadore

Newly Enlightened
We just got our first Armytek headlamp after losing a Skilhunt headlamp to 5 foot drop onto concrete, and I'm trying to figure, without gutting it myself, what they're doing different to justify a 10 meter impact resistance when everyone else can barely do 1-2 meters. Or even more substantial, the 30 meter vs 1-2 meters rating of their tactical line. 100 feet drop resistance almost implies they're not to be believed, compared to about 5 feet for most of their competition. The Wizard Pro (XHP50) headlamp has a bit beefier body, but doesn't really feel any heavier. I doubt thicker casing would mean much anyway. Unless the electronics are somehow insulated from the casing to dampen the shock of such an impact, I can't see how it might be effective. But, I'm not an engineer. And since there's no rubberized or other external coating to absorb shock, I'm wondering what's going on. Are these lights really as tough as they claim? Or is Armytek just betting against the likelihood of accidents?

ven

Flashaholic
Can't comment on the latest versions, but plenty of YouTube vids showing the older predator being abused. Driving over, crazy drops etc etc. So imo yes they are tough lights from what I have seen. Their weakness seems to be actual driver gremlins on newer models(mode glitches etc).

eh4

Flashlight Enthusiast
I took my first predator pro apart, thankfully it's only failure had been losing the strobe mode, which was a beneficial failure to me, it's a keeper just the way it is.
Luckily my curiosity had been satisfied so I didn't void the warranty on my second one, which failed completely, down to a low mode only and some dim flashes.

Anyway, the there is a really nice host with a beautiful reflector, and a potted metal pill, which looks a lot like you'd expect.