Personal Web Server?

KingSmono

Enlightened
I'm new to this, so maybe someone can help clear up a few cloudy points for me... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thinking.gif I was looking to create my own website, and the "free" ones all include pop-ups, and ad banners... They also don't let you FTP your own webpage (made in frontpage or dreamweaver etc) so are stuck using their cheesy pre-designed templates. You also can't have remote access to the pictures, which means you can't display the picture hosted on the website in a post on here, or in an ebay description. You have to upgrade to the "premium" versions for that, and I don't want to pay 20 bucks a month for website hosting!

Is it possible for me to purchase my own web server, and register my own domain name and then be free to do with it whatever I please? I would expect that personal web servers AREN'T cheap, but I can't even find anything like that for sale!! Any options/advice would be GREATLY appreaciated!!! Thanks /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thumbsup.gif

-Allen

nullandvoid

Newly Enlightened
There are cheaper web servers on a monthly basis that will let you do pretty much whatever you want. You might check out www.ipowerweb.com and smartconsumers.infinology.com
They both offer web hosting for about 7 or 8$ a month with reasonable disk space and transfer with FTP access and a few other features. The biggest problem with running your own is having internet service with a static IP address, this is usually fairly pricey, and if you don't have a static IP then you would have to pay another monthly fee for a dynamic domain service...

nullandvoid

Newly Enlightened
One other thing to think about is some ISP's offer webspace as part of their package, I know mine includes 7 10MB web spaces as part of my cable modem service. No pop-ups, and I regularly ftp my pages to them and have refrenced pictures on them for ebay auctions.

KingSmono

Enlightened