Imalent        
Page 14 of 15 FirstFirst ... 4789101112131415 LastLast
Results 391 to 420 of 421

Thread: Preon P1 MKIII

  1. #391
    *Flashaholic* Chauncey Gardiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Pacific N.W.
    Posts
    7,524

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    One shouldn't expect a dramatic increase from 60 to 100 lumens. The runtime of 1 hr for Burst needs to be changed on the website.

    Brightness Levels (With 1xAAA NiMH battery)
    Low: 1 lumen, 45 hrs
    Medium: 15 lumens, 5 hrs
    High: 60 lumens, 1.2 hrs
    Max: 100 lumens, 1 hr-
    Burst: 100 lumens, 1 hr
    Sometimes I wonder if I've purchased my last flashlight.

  2. #392
    Flashaholic* Got Lumens?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Champlain Valley
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by Chauncey Gardiner View Post
    One shouldn't expect a dramatic increase from 60 to 100 lumens. The runtime of 1 hr for Burst needs to be changed on the website.
    CG is right. Let's not forget everyone's eyes are also different. Without tools the easiest way to view it is by focusing on the brightness of the spill of the beam, and not the hotspot.

  3. #393

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Thanks for the info guys. I understand now. I guess initially I was looking for a greater difference between the two settings. But finally realized its there just a minor change.

    Iím still enjoying the light. Itís hard sometimes to not want crazy lumens. I carried a olight sr2 for quite some time. But I always seem to come back to a AAA light because of the ability they have to disappear in the pocket. And 100 lumens is more than enough light for every day use. But again.....itís hard not to crave the Big lumens of a larger light sometimes.

  4. #394
    *Flashaholic* Chauncey Gardiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Pacific N.W.
    Posts
    7,524

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by Mgizler View Post
    Thanks for the info guys. I understand now. I guess initially I was looking for a greater difference between the two settings. But finally realized its there just a minor change.

    Iím still enjoying the light. Itís hard sometimes to not want crazy lumens. I carried a olight sr2 for quite some time. But I always seem to come back to a AAA light because of the ability they have to disappear in the pocket. And 100 lumens is more than enough light for every day use. But again.....itís hard not to crave the Big lumens of a larger light sometimes.
    Crazy lumens, you say. Boy have I got a light for you!

    900 to be exact. MiNI MK III

    Sometimes I wonder if I've purchased my last flashlight.

  5. #395
    *Flashaholic* Chauncey Gardiner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Pacific N.W.
    Posts
    7,524

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Excellent picture. Provided for size reference.



    Photo Credit: SNES
    Sometimes I wonder if I've purchased my last flashlight.

  6. #396

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Very nice. I had one of those when 4sevens first came out with them. Canít remember what happened to it. I almost ordered one but decided on the preon.

  7. #397

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Great picture btw

  8. #398
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,655

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Did the mode memory problem on the P1 MKIII ever get fixed?
    Light is the activity of what is transparent - Aristotle

  9. #399
    Flashaholic* Got Lumens?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Champlain Valley
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by cave dave View Post
    Did the mode memory problem on the P1 MKIII ever get fixed?
    Quote Originally Posted by thesnark17 View Post
    I have sent the lights on to Flfrk. They should arrive Friday. Short review: the newest Preons are excellent. The P1 and P2 both have easily accessible burst modes, (unlike my first-production-run examples,) so it appears the bugs are all worked out now. I was surprised by just how well the P2 disappears into a pocket. I will probably buy one sometime, when either the silver or copper is on sale. (Black doesn't appeal to me, or I would have bought one at 20% off the other day. Why only black?...) Longer review with pictures to follow.
    The Foursevens Preon P1 P2 Pass-Around n GAW is still going.
    Last edited by Got Lumens?; 08-08-2019 at 10:10 AM.

  10. #400
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,265

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Well the iinevitable finally happened and my P1 fell out of my pocket somewhere. I should have learned my lesson not to EDC it anymore after a bunch of close calls.

    Sorry, but until this flaw is fixed, I have no intention on buying another Preon.
    What kind of self respecting nocturnal being cannot see in the dark, one way or another?

  11. #401
    Flashaholic* RUSH FAN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,146

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    What did you not clip it correctly to yourself?
    I have NEVER had problems losing the light.

    Quote Originally Posted by defloyd77 View Post
    Well the iinevitable finally happened and my P1 fell out of my pocket somewhere. I should have learned my lesson not to EDC it anymore after a bunch of close calls.

    Sorry, but until this flaw is fixed, I have no intention on buying another Preon.

  12. #402
    Flashaholic* Got Lumens?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Champlain Valley
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    I've lost lights. They've gotten snagged on my seatbelt . Found one, a preon1 I dropped in the fall on a gravel driveway that next spring. Changed the cell and worked fine, just a little dinged up.

  13. #403
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,265

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by RUSH FAN View Post
    What did you not clip it correctly to yourself?
    I have NEVER had problems losing the light.
    Yeah, that's probably what happened, I must have forgotten how to use these high tech, fancy pants clip doohickeys.

    It's the ONLY light I have had this much trouble with staying clipped to a pocket.
    What kind of self respecting nocturnal being cannot see in the dark, one way or another?

  14. #404

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Anyone know where you can find the copper one? Prometheus gave me the lovely answer of "we don't when our own items will ever be in stock"and I can't find it anywhere else.

  15. #405
    Flashaholic* Got Lumens?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Champlain Valley
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by berfles View Post
    Anyone know where you can find the copper one? Prometheus gave me the lovely answer of "we don't when our own items will ever be in stock"and I can't find it anywhere else.
    Have You tried a WTB post?

  16. #406

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by Got Lumens? View Post
    Have You tried a WTB post?

    I haven't, I'd rather wait for them to be in stock vs getting someone's used light. Just wish there was any sort of ETA at all.

  17. #407
    Flashaholic* Got Lumens?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Champlain Valley
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by berfles View Post
    I haven't, I'd rather wait for them to be in stock vs getting someone's used light. Just wish there was any sort of ETA at all.
    Great News!!!!
    The recent kickstarter for the Titanium Preon 1 will allow a pre-order of the Copper Preon 1 and Copper Preon 2 at a discount. Check it out Here.
    Last edited by Got Lumens?; 05-28-2020 at 05:57 AM.

  18. #408

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by Got Lumens? View Post
    Great News!!!!
    The recent kickstarter for the Titanium Preon 1 will allow a pre-order of the Copper Preon 1 and Copper Preon 2 at a discount. Check it out Here.
    Thanks for this. Grabbed one of each. These are great lights to scatter around the house. I have a black one already.

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Candlepowerforums mobile app

  19. #409

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    I donít see the Kickstarter on the link

  20. #410
    Flashaholic* Got Lumens?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Champlain Valley
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by Mgizler View Post
    I donít see the Kickstarter on the link
    Not sure what happened, but the link will take You to the product page, then click on the pre-order store button.

  21. #411
    Flashaholic* Got Lumens?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Champlain Valley
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII Titanium

    Shipping Notice gotten.
    Titanium MKIII P1 on the way!

  22. #412
    Rstype's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Masachussetts
    Posts
    1,458

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII Titanium

    Quote Originally Posted by Got Lumens? View Post
    Shipping Notice gotten.
    Titanium MKIII P1 on the way!
    very happy about it too! Itís kinda cool they went with 5000k I believe for the Ti preons.

  23. #413
    Flashaholic* Got Lumens?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Champlain Valley
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by berfles View Post
    I haven't, I'd rather wait for them to be in stock vs getting someone's used light. Just wish there was any sort of ETA at all.
    I'll ask for You if they plan on stocking the website
    Just got mine. really cool. The new Copper MKIII's have their own unique plastic insert to accommodate the sealed light.


  24. #414

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII Titanium

    Quote Originally Posted by Got Lumens? View Post
    Shipping Notice gotten.
    Titanium MKIII P1 on the way!

    Love mine. No issues. Beautiful little jewel of a light.

  25. #415

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII Titanium

    RUNTIME ON LOW = 40 hours

    Tested twice with the included 450 mA paleblue battery. Should get much more with Eneloop or primaries.

    Time is plus/minus 15 minutes, since that is about how often I checked the light. At ~40 hours she goes dark. Looks like about 1 lumen the entire time, but that is just looking at it.

  26. #416
    Flashaholic* Got Lumens?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Champlain Valley
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII Titanium

    Quote Originally Posted by berfles View Post
    I haven't, I'd rather wait for them to be in stock vs getting someone's used light. Just wish there was any sort of ETA at all.
    The Titanium P1's are in stock



    Quote Originally Posted by JimIslander View Post
    RUNTIME ON LOW = 40 hours

    Tested twice with the included 450 mA paleblue battery. Should get much more with Eneloop or primaries.

    Time is plus/minus 15 minutes, since that is about how often I checked the light. At ~40 hours she goes dark. Looks like about 1 lumen the entire time, but that is just looking at it.
    That sounds good. I'd like to hear your Eneloop(?ReCyko) results. I'll give Lithium Primaries a test and get back here.


    Edit: Thursday 16:00hrs started runtime on Low with an Olight Lithium Primary cell
    . . . . Friday . . 16:00hrs Low output still strong
    . . . . Saturday 16:00hrs Low output still strong
    . . . . Sunday . 16:00hrs Low output declined but still stable
    Last edited by Got Lumens?; 09-13-2020 at 03:42 PM.

  27. #417
    Flashaholic* Got Lumens?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Champlain Valley
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII Titanium

    The Titanium P1 runtime on Low

    ~ 81 - 86 hours using Olight Lithium Primary cell.

    Quote Originally Posted by Got Lumens? View Post

    Edit: Thursday 16:00hrs started runtime on Low with an Olight Lithium Primary cell
    . . . . Friday . . 16:00hrs Low output still strong
    . . . . Saturday 16:00hrs Low output still strong
    . . . . Sunday . 16:00hrs Low output declined but still stable
    . . . . Monday . 01:00hrs Low Stable
    . . . . Monday . 05:00hrs Lights out


    New Edit:
    . . . . If You're a Promethean, Watch for the new pass-around of the FourSevens Preon 1 in Titanium. . .
    . . . . A clever clue for You all beforehand
    Last edited by Got Lumens?; 09-22-2020 at 06:42 PM.

  28. #418
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,655

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by cave dave View Post
    Did the mode memory problem on the P1 MKIII ever get fixed?
    To answer my own question from August 2019 the P1 MKIII single AAA light arrived 29Jan, 2021 and the memory bug is still there. Quark MkIII 16L LiIon 16670 light that arrived today does not have this problem.
    Last edited by cave dave; 02-27-2021 at 10:16 PM.
    Light is the activity of what is transparent - Aristotle

  29. #419
    Flashaholic* Got Lumens?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Champlain Valley
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by cave dave View Post
    To answer my own question from August 2019 the P1 MKIII single AAA light arrived 29Jan, 2021 and the memory bug is still there. Quark MkIII 16L LiIon 16670 light that arrived today does not have this problem.
    Memory Bug ???
    Please elaborate. First I have heard.

  30. #420
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,655

    Default Re: Preon P1 MKIII

    Quote Originally Posted by Got Lumens? View Post
    Memory Bug ???
    Please elaborate. First I have heard.
    I think part of the confusion is that two threads got merged, the titanium version discussion and the original discussion.

    Memory bug after turbo discussion starts at post 337, defloyd77 first explains what I see in post 338.

    Quote Originally Posted by defloyd77 View Post
    Interesting. When I do it with low, it comes on in med. med comes back on low and high also comes back on in low.
    You join the discussion in post 339
    Quote Originally Posted by Got Lumens? View Post
    It sounds like the light is thinking there is an extra click. Try double dap(press) and hold without clicking. The light should be on momentary burst, while still holding complete the click. Does the level change or light flicker? If so there is something causing a switching trouble.
    Try making sure the switch is fully seated by using a flat pencil inside the battery tube. If the switch is not fully seated You will have trouble because the amount of finger travel will be greater and affect it's switching ergonomics. All else fails send support an email and they will take care of You.
    Light is the activity of what is transparent - Aristotle

Page 14 of 15 FirstFirst ... 4789101112131415 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •