TNC ultra high power Cr2.AAA safe?

nitebrite

Enlightened
I was just wondering if you are not very careful. like for instance accidently turn on in pocket or some other scenario. Due to the sheer output and resulting heat given the size. Can these prove dangerous if not paid respect? I am amazed at the output given the size, but the current, heat worries me. As you all know this output claim is for real as well. I just wonder if it can prove dangerous. I mean 45 seconds not very useful to me. Push to 5 minutes, asking for it? Don't mean to be stupid. These seem incredible but not sure it is for me. Plus I really want something that runs on primaries and I do not think he has one? Thanks

the0dore3524

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm by no means an expert, but I've owned a few of their flashlights. As long as you untwist the head of the flashlight sufficiently, you shouldn't run into any issues with accidental activation. I also spoke on the phone with Bob once, and he told me that heat isn't an issue with their 10280 flashlights because the battery will run dry before it ever overheats. However, I suspect that this is not the case with their CR2 flashlights. I had a Micro Lux Dragon CR2 Flashlight and it quickly heat up. It definitely is a flashlight that should not be used by someone who doesn't appreciate the merits of battery safety. I'd say five minutes might be pushing it. You want to run the high setting only for short bursts. You are correct that TnC doesn't have a flashlight that uses primaries except for their C-Cell flashlight.

LetThereBeLight!

Enlightened
I'm not an expert like the persons here with thousands of posts.

I'd use a light that runs on Alkaline, not lithium. But of course you'd be ok to switch those out with lithium AAA's or lithium AA's.

The other type of lights that run on CR2 type batteries can indeed get very hot. One got very hot in my right pocket and that sure taught me a lesson.