"Review" Nitecore SC4 (4 Slot multichemistry smart charger with LCD display)

Budda

Enlightened
"Review" Nitecore SC4 (4 Slot multichemistry smart charger with LCD display)

I received the Nitecore SC4 for the review from Nitecore.
While I think I can provide some useful information about flashlights from a technical point of view, when it comes to chargers, I have very little knowledge. So what I can do is give you my thoughts as a flashlight user, maybe with a few years of flashlight passion on my shoulders.

The SC4 is a multi chemistry smart charger with LCD display from Nitecore with a USB port with an 2.1 A output.

The SC4 comes in this box.
Nitecore_SC4_01.jpg

Inside the box there are the SC4, manual and power cable (Standard C7 plug).
Nitecore_SC4_02.jpg

Right from the start, I thought it looked like an updated version of the well known Nitecore D4 charger.
And that wouldn't be a wrong statement, as you can still see the type of cell inserted, charging current, charging status, voltage of the battery, charging time, mAh charged, but also
- Select the current from 300 mA to 3000mA (the latter only in one slot) with 100mA increments for each slot,
- Receive an overall indication (Good/Poor) of the status of the battery, based on a quick measure of the internal resistance,
- Recover Over discharged li ion cells with a dedicated program,
- Select witch li ion chemistry are you using (3.7, 4.2, 4.3 Volts),

All this can be done using the C and the V buttons that are under the screen.
Well, not only Nitecore added more functions, but also made took great care in the design and animation of the LCD display.
To make justice to that I made a simple video showing the animations and going through some operations (changing current, viewing information… for detailed instructions refer to the SC4 manual).