Malkoff        
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 38

Thread: Post Your Rotary Settings

  1. #1
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Apison, TN
    Posts
    141

    Default Post Your Rotary Settings

    It's been a while since I've posted to this forum. The last HDS light I bought several years ago was a 170 lm High CRI Legacy Executive Clicky in Cerakote Orange. Previously having purchased the 200 lm Legacy Executive Rotary and 120 lm Legacy EDC Clicky.

    Now happy to report I'm now also the owner of the 300 lm EDC Rotary, and I'm curious to see how everyone has their Rotary lights set up.

    Post your settings! Here's mine:

    A = Level 24 (max 300 lm)
    B = Rotary (turn on)
    C = Level 7
    D = Tactical Strobe

    Turn On Preset = Off
    Automatic Turn Off = On
    Button Lockout = On
    Locator Flash = On
    Pseudo Momentary = On
    True Momentary = Off
    Burst = On
    Menus = On

    broonzbane

  2. #2

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Factory stock.

    It's stupid simple. I can hand it to people and not worry. On and off is all I need. Hold for 100% while on is pretty neat.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    I always set my Rotary functions to this:

    A = Level 24 (max 200 lm)
    B = Rotary (turn on)
    C = Pulsating Strope
    D = Tactical Strobe

    Turn On Preset = Off
    Automatic Turn Off = On
    Button Lockout = On
    Locator Flash = Off
    Pseudo Momentary = On
    True Momentary = On
    Burst = On
    Menus = On
    Thor's Hammer Custom Leather
    I'm old, cranky, and don't like private messages. Please don't private message me as that is reserved for moderators giving me warnings that I rightly deserve. Thank you.

  4. #4
    Flashaholic* INFRNL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Bottom Of Pikes Peak
    Posts
    1,901

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    I've been lazy and haven't programmed my lights. I did make some slight changes to a couple of my first rotaries, but nothing too far off of stock. One day when i'm bored, i will play around a little.

  5. #5
    Modernflame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Dirty Dirty South
    Posts
    2,549

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    In my minority opinion, the best way to program a rotary is to sell it and replace it with a clicky.
    “May it be a light to you in dark places, when all other lights go out.”
    J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

  6. #6
    Moderator
    archimedes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    CONUS, top left
    Posts
    10,711

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by Modernflame View Post
    In my minority opinion, the best way to program a rotary is to sell it and replace it with a clicky.
    Those are my settings too ...
    ... is the archimedes peak

  7. #7

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    The best place to post about clickers is in a clicky thread :P

    Stock rotaries here.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    archimedes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    CONUS, top left
    Posts
    10,711

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Fair enough, lol

    Maybe I missed out, by passing on the alumibronze "archi-dento" rotary ....
    ... is the archimedes peak

  9. #9

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by archimedes View Post
    Fair enough, lol

    Maybe I missed out, by passing on the alumibronze "archi-dento" rotary ....
    A little jb weld & you’re good to go.

  10. #10
    Flashaholic* INFRNL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Bottom Of Pikes Peak
    Posts
    1,901

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by Modernflame View Post
    In my minority opinion, the best way to program a rotary is to sell it and replace it with a clicky.


    Quote Originally Posted by Tejasandre View Post
    The best place to post about clickers is in a clicky thread :P

    Stock rotaries here.
    I didn't even realize this was for rotaries only til I saw modern/archi's responses

    Quote Originally Posted by archimedes View Post
    Fair enough, lol

    Maybe I missed out, by passing on the alumibronze "archi-dento" rotary ....
    I can't believe you passed on the one material you pushed for, I can understand wanting clicky though


    Quote Originally Posted by Tejasandre View Post
    A little jb weld & you’re good to go.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    In the future, all HDS lights will be Rotary only.


















































    Just kidding.
    Thor's Hammer Custom Leather
    I'm old, cranky, and don't like private messages. Please don't private message me as that is reserved for moderators giving me warnings that I rightly deserve. Thank you.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    As it should be!

  13. #13

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    A = Maximum (200 High CRI)
    B = Rotary (forced turn on)
    C = 40 lumens (Level 20)
    D = Bicycle Flasher

    Turn On Preset = On B
    Automatic Turn Off = On
    Button Lockout = Off
    Locator Flash = Off
    Pseudo Momentary = Off
    True Momentary = Off
    Burst = On
    Menus = On
    Last edited by jon_slider; 10-09-2018 at 01:19 PM.

  14. #14
    *Flashaholic* fyrstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Maryland, Near DC, USA
    Posts
    6,215

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by Modernflame View Post
    In my minority opinion, the best way to program a rotary is to sell it and replace it with a clicky.
    The astute observer would notice this thread is intended for people who actually use rotaries.

    - - -

    I don't have an HDS Rotary yet, but when I do, I will configure it to have the closest I can get to a linear progression from moonlight to full-blast.
    Last edited by fyrstormer; 10-09-2018 at 09:07 PM.

  15. #15
    Moderator


    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Penn's Woods
    Posts
    6,653

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Screenshot_20180918-080633_Firefox-540x1110.jpg

    That's just for you, Hogo... You had me scared for a minute.
    Last edited by scout24; 10-10-2018 at 07:45 AM.
    "Rage, rage against the dying of the light..."

  16. #16
    ven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    20,186

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by jon_slider View Post
    A = Maximum (200 High CRI)
    B = Rotary (forced turn on)
    C = 40 lumens (Level 20)
    D = Bicycle Flasher

    Turn On Preset = On B
    Automatic Turn Off = On
    Button Lockout = Off
    Locator Flash = Off
    Pseudo Momentary = Off
    True Momentary = Off
    Burst = On
    Menus = On

    ................ you have a rotary????

  17. #17

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by scout24 View Post

    That's just for you, Hogo... You had me scared for a minute.
    LOL! Yes, Henry and I did talk about 86ing the Clicky, but that will not happen for quite some time.
    The Clicky is still more robust than the Rotary, though as tough as the Rotary is, it is mostly a moot point. There is less to go wrong with a Clicky (fewer parts, fewer moving parts, etc.) and it has a small but loyal following (10% of sales). So, the Clicky will be around for some time. It is highly doubtful that any special material runs will be done with it however because of the % of sales. Neither Henry or I carry the Executive anymore, but I still keep a couple around (one in a bug out bag with 2aa tube and another in 123 format).
    Thor's Hammer Custom Leather
    I'm old, cranky, and don't like private messages. Please don't private message me as that is reserved for moderators giving me warnings that I rightly deserve. Thank you.

  18. #18
    Flashaholic* peter yetman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    North Norfolk UK
    Posts
    2,798

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by fyrstormer View Post
    The astute observer would notice this thread is intended for people who actually use rotaries.
    Not being astute, but retaining a sense of humour, I've programmed my Rotary Tactical to resemble a clicky.
    I really can't be doing with all that twisting like we did last Summer.
    P

  19. #19
    Moderator


    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Penn's Woods
    Posts
    6,653

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    10 points for the Chubby Checker reference. (And for retaining a sense of humor...)
    "Rage, rage against the dying of the light..."

  20. #20

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by fyrstormer View Post
    I will configure it to have the closest I can get to a linear progression from moonlight to full-blast.
    the 24 step increments cannot be changed. The rotary (and the clicky) ramps up or down, in preset steps:
    see this link for a visual of the ramping
    https://youtu.be/GA6vlgrk0fI?t=1229

    besides the Rotary mode, there are 3 other presets available for you to change to your liking.. press for maximumum, or strobe, or not. Double click for a preset medium, triple click for strobe.. or whatever level you want. But the Rotary dial can already easily access the lowest mode, so there is no need to use preset D for that, the way it is on a Clicky..
    see this link for a visual of preset C and D
    https://youtu.be/GA6vlgrk0fI?t=1112

    Quote Originally Posted by Hogokansatsukan View Post
    Neither Henry or I carry the Executive anymore
    A Rotary can do everything a Clicky can do. But a Clicky cannot do the Twist..




  21. #21
    Flashaholic* peter yetman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    North Norfolk UK
    Posts
    2,798

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    I haven't got the right sort of hips for that. Plus, I can't dance.
    P

  22. #22
    Moderator


    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Penn's Woods
    Posts
    6,653

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    For the longest time, I had all four presets set to ramping mode. Foolproof. Even for me. Eventually, I did change preset D to level 24, leaving the other three ramping. Set up with press-and-hold for momentary max, I'm good to go. Still love the bomb proofedness of the Clicky, though.
    "Rage, rage against the dying of the light..."

  23. #23
    Modernflame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Dirty Dirty South
    Posts
    2,549

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by Hogokansatsukan View Post
    and it has a small but loyal following (10% of sales). So, the Clicky will be around for some time.
    Yes, thank you for remembering us. I read something about this thread being devoted to rotary programming but I find it hard to shut up about the HDS clicky. Thanks everyone.
    “May it be a light to you in dark places, when all other lights go out.”
    J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

  24. #24

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by Modernflame View Post
    about the HDS clicky
    dont feel left out, even though your Preset B can not be set to Rotary Dial Position

    all the other settings, presets, and option menus, can be configured the same for a Clicky and a Rotary

    maybe just post your Clicky settings here, I can overlook that you dont have a Rotary Dial Position on Preset B ;-)
    Last edited by jon_slider; 10-11-2018 at 01:45 PM.

  25. #25
    Flashaholic* peter yetman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    North Norfolk UK
    Posts
    2,798

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by scout24 View Post
    For the longest time, I had all four presets set to ramping mode. Foolproof. Even for me. Eventually, I did change preset D to level 24, leaving the other three ramping. Set up with press-and-hold for momentary max, I'm good to go. Still love the bomb proofedness of the Clicky, though.
    Well I've learnt something today. I had no idea that all the presets could be set to rotary.
    P

  26. #26
    Flashaholic* Hondo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    1,447

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    I believe they changed the default as shipped to that, to keep people from getting confused when they got off preset B. I think it is still that way. But I think using preset A for momentary max is a good plan, though, like scout did.

    Mine is set up like my Clickies, pretty stock, just a bit lower on preset C and D. And of course preset B is the rotary. And momentary is on, and I actually still turn off the force preset on the Rotary, so I can come back to one of the other three presets if I want - not that I do very often.

  27. #27

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    https://www.hdssystems.com/Products/...UsersGuide.pdf
    That manual says this is the Rotary default for FW 2.18 (2018)
    *Preset C, and D became Rotary instead of Slow Strobe and Fast Strobe

    Preset A: Maximum
    Preset B: brightness level selected by rotary control
    *Preset C: brightness level selected by rotary control
    *Preset D: brightness level selected by rotary control 


    (The Options Defaults did not change)
    Turn On Preset = ON for Preset B
    Automatic Turn Off = OFF
    Button Lockout = OFF
    Locator Flash = OFF
    Pseudo Momentary = OFF
    True Momentary = OFF
    Burst = On
    Menus = On

    =======
    I believe this WAS the Factory Default Rotary before 2018 FW 2.18
    Preset A: Maximum
    Preset B: brightness level selected by rotary control
    Preset C: Slow Strobe (Bicycle Flasher)
    Preset D: Fast Strobe (Tactical Strobe)

    Turn On Preset = ON for Preset B
    Automatic Turn Off = OFF
    Button Lockout = OFF
    Locator Flash = OFF
    Pseudo Momentary = OFF
    True Momentary = OFF
    Burst = On
    Menus = On

  28. #28
    Modernflame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Dirty Dirty South
    Posts
    2,549

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by Hondo View Post
    I believe they changed the default as shipped to that, to keep people from getting confused when they got off preset B.
    I can see why they made that change. When my father got his 3 o'clock rotary this past summer, I tried hard to explain that there are four presets and many options, of which the rotary is only one. He never quite got it, even though he's one of the more technically inclined people I know. He's quite content to switch it on and turn the dial.
    “May it be a light to you in dark places, when all other lights go out.”
    J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

  29. #29

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    It is exactly why we changed it... we decided at SHOT when people would come by the booth and pick up a light and click it like they were trying to make it orgasm or like it was the controller for some video game. It was at that point, we realized that we had to make it as simple as possible out of the box. Those who have the desire to change the settings can still go in and change them, but for the novice, it is just easier to keep the presets as the Rotary function.
    Thor's Hammer Custom Leather
    I'm old, cranky, and don't like private messages. Please don't private message me as that is reserved for moderators giving me warnings that I rightly deserve. Thank you.

  30. #30
    Modernflame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Dirty Dirty South
    Posts
    2,549

    Default Re: Post Your Rotary Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by Hogokansatsukan View Post
    ...people would come by the booth and pick up a light and click it like they were trying to make it orgasm...
    I believe the HDS blinks five times then goes into locator flash after it has an orgasm...



    But yes, most people don't want to learn how to use their flashlight. I was previously in that crowd, which is surprising considering how well I've taken to HDS programming.
    “May it be a light to you in dark places, when all other lights go out.”
    J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •