Recommendation please

sheltot

Newly Enlightened
Hello all,
I'm in the market for a new light and I think I've found the right group of people to ask. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinser2.gif

Let me tell you what I need the light for and y'all can let me know what'll work best for me.

I'm an engineer working for an elevator company. For most purposes, my Mini Mag (2AA) works fine. The output of that light is sufficient for poking around in control cabinets, adjusting motor brakes and about anything close up. However, when looking down into the elevator pit (10-15 ft) or across machine rooms (20+ ft) that aren't wired yet, I need something with more oomph!

What has caught my eye is the Surefire Aviator and the Streamlight TT-2L. However, there is a significant price differnce.

BTW, while I say I want one light I can see getting more /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif (I'm a knife knut also, and have more folders than I can really justify). But, I really just want to take one to jobsites.

Also, how do these critters take to being dropped?

TIA,
Tony

JonSidneyB

Flashlight Enthusiast
A mag AA is good for most of your uses you say. Hmmmm, this makes me wonder if An Arc4 on boost would cover those times that you need more light. Or perhaps waiting for the Surefire U2. These are not the longest throwing lights but if you are talking 20ft. These lights I think should do a find job. Just select the amount of light that you need.

JohnK

Flashlight Enthusiast
You were asking about the A2/SL 2L Twin-Task.

For rough and tumble, you can't beat the 2L SL for the money. The A2 has a bit more throw, but from the distances you describe, the TT will do fine. The 3 LEDs (from either) will give you enourmous run time for the close up stuff, and the Xenon will cover when you need throw.

The A2 is similiar, much more costly, and for work, I doubt you'd want to spend the bucks. I sure wouldn't want to drop an A2 down a shaft, and spend the day crying about it.

jdb2