Hong Kong mod Now with pics...suggestions?

davidra

Enlightened
Before I "saw the light" (how bad is that) I bought a pair of Hong Kong Surefire knock-offs with 2-123 and "Police" on the bezel (I'm sure you know the ones); both have 8 LED's. After about a month, one of them started losing LED's with flickering, then death. Are there any drop-in mods for a light assemby? I'm a total newbie as far as mods (except for a G2 clickie)and essentially want something really bright that I can just drop in......Rick

Kiu

Enlightened
Re: Hong Kong mod?

David,
Do you mean drop-in module?
The answer is simply no. But you can mod it using a Lux3 star. Driving the Lux3 by adding a 1ohm 2W resister. It will drawing well at about 1.3A - 0.8A in a K bin's Lux3.
Or any other suggestions will do.
I also had 8 leds 3xAAA version buy in Ap Yiu Street. It is still working for 2 months as I rarely turn on this dim Led.

davidra

Enlightened

Yes, a drop-in module is what I'm looking for. Since I have no skills whatsoever in fine handwork, I'd also be willing to send the light to someone if they can do an interesting mod...Rick

chrisse242

Enlightened

It would be good to see some pictures of the components. Some of us modded the xenon-versions of this light which is quite simple. I don't know about the led-versions.

Chrisse

davidra

Enlightened

Naturally, we have two digital cameras...one is at my fishing cottage, the other in Peru with my wife...when I can get my hands on one I'll post them. I expect that the components would be similar to the Xenon models. This has a board with a bead to contact the spring on top of the battery case, and soldered leads running to each of the led's.

Pellidon

Flashlight Enthusiast

I would like to see the Led circuit mount as well. I wonder how much different it is over the Xenon setup. That made an excellent heat sink base for a star especially when driven in the 300-400ma range.

davidra

Enlightened