14500 lith/alk/nimh lights question

JoeRodge

Newly Enlightened
I was looking at the lumintop tool light recently. I've always wanted a 14500 light. A small little pocket rocket.

But, I was wondering if it and lights like it detect the li-ion battery? Do I need to use a protected cell? My worry is that it will run my cell to 0.9V or something.

This might be a stupid question but I was just curious. I've never used a "dual-fuel" type light before.

Strintguy

Enlightened
Buy a very good quality cell, check/charge it often, don't leave it on high and walk off. I imagine it will get muey calor very quickly.

JoeRodge

Newly Enlightened
What? I was asking if it was going to run my cell below 3.0 volts. I don't usually use protected cells. I was wondering if I should in this light because I'm not sure if it will stop at 2.9-3v or keep depleting the cell.

holygeez03

Enlightened
If the manufacturer states that 14500 is supported, and doesn't mention to "only use protected cells"... then the light SHOULD have voltage protection. But you are trusting the manufacturer and you should probably test it by leaving the light on low and when it shuts off, check the voltage of the cell.

From my understanding, running the voltage too low on a single cell li-ion isn't the problem... but trying to RECHARGE the overly depleted cell is bad news.

Unless thoroughly tested/trusted, I would use a quality protected cell... just make sure it fits. I doubt the battery protection circuit is going to limit the current draw on this light?

The only unprotected li-ion cells I use are in my Zebralights... protected cells won't fit and would limit the current... but I trust their circuitry, and I still almost always charge the cells when they are anywhere near 50%.

holygeez03

Enlightened
Based on a very quick search, it appears that the Lumintop Tool does NOT have low voltage protection... so I would definitely use a protected cell.