SF Luxeon lifespan and replacement

jondru

Newly Enlightened
Just a quick question for you sages and oracles: I saw a comment in a recent query indicating that the expected lifespan of the SF KL4 LED is ~500 hours.

Is that true? And if so, how does one go about getting the LED in an L4 or L5 replaced? Is it covered under Surefire's blanket warranty? I haven't been able to learn anything from their site on the subject (especially since it doesn't even mention the L5!).

thanks!
vv
J.O.

The_LED_Museum

*Retired*
I'm pretty sure this would be covered under SureFire's warranty program.

But I'm not an expert in this, and don't play one on TV.
So please take my opinions with large amounts of crystalline sodium chloride. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Size15's

Flashaholic
If it breaks, SureFire will fix it. If it wears out that's not the same thing. Certainly you don't expect to have your car tires or brake pads replaced for free when they wear out do you?

SureFire's rubber-covered tape pressure switches wear out, as do the rubber push buttons on flashlights. These things as well as batteries and lamps are not covered I don't think and I never even expected Luxeons to be either. If the SureFire breaks, then certainly, but if it is used to the end of it's useful life then it's different.

Perhaps the issue here is that there is no "rated lifespan" from SureFire for their 5W Luxeon products. They don't give one for bulb Lamp Assemblies either do they?
Does any flashlight manufacturer give a rated lifespan for Luxeon models (either 1W, 5W or III) ??

I don't know how long my L4 will last (I believe the 5W Luxeon has a kinda 'half-life' in that it'll get less bright over time rather than just stop?)