Canister light attempt. Zero electronics knowledge:/

YZed

Newly Enlightened
Hello. I'm fairly new to diving and keen on wreck diving(dove the Ex-HMAS Brisbane a few months ago, heading to Chuuk in May). I have a couple of basic dive torches. A Big Blue AL1200 main and 450 backup(model numbers refer to lumens) I have a few other lights, an Olight M20, another "tactical" light that DOESN'T need $20 worth of batteries(can't remember it's name and it's locked away), a 3D Led maglite, various head-torches...and, the reason for this thread...a busted P7 Ledlenser(pulled it apart and the plastic switch cylinder was broken allowing the switch contact to seperate from the light head contact). So I was searching for ways I can use the torch coupled with current diving needs and I came across copious amounts of dive canister builds....so I followed down the rabbit hole...and now I'm stuck in limbo between having found enough information that I want to build a powerful light for a lot less than I can buy one for, and having found enough information to realise just how much more I need to know, which leads me to asking you guys for help. I've been trawling through the forums picking up bits and pieces of info, but I cant keep it all together(and I'm easily distracted. I spent 2hrs last night looking into IR emitters...just because) I have about 40 tabs open, and can't remember what half of them are for.

My understanding of electronics is nearly non-existent. I have a basic understanding of the relationship between volts/amps/watts from auto electrical DIY, but nowhere near enough to work it all out myself. I understand a lot of the questions are going to be rehashing old stuff for you guys, and I'm happy to be told to go and search for it(some direction would be appreciated, links would be awesome) I'll bold the questions to hopefully make it easier to find the answers(but please watch out for the questions that I don't know to ask:)