Buying a new small crossover car - LED or Halogen lights

callehayes

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

I hope all of you are good. I am about to buy a new small crossover type vehicle, e.g. Subaru Crosstek or Hyundai Kona etc.

I studied the specs in detailed and notice that some trim levels offer LED lighting and others offer Halogen lighting for the exterior lightning, especially headlamps.

I have reviewed the IIHS safety ratings for the vehicles I am considering as well, and for some models/trims the LED lightning provide better road illumination.

However, if I opt for the LED lighting, are these simply bulbs that can be changed as they go bad, or will I likely need to go to the dealer and change the whole lamp unit? For example, I see that many outdoor lights at Home Depot etc are LED, but their bulbs are soldered on, so there is no way to easily change the bulbs.

To add, what are the illumination benefits of LED vs Halogen bulbs for road visibility? My dad cannot see that well at night and he may drive the car at times.

Thank you!!!

Nephron44

Enlightened
Go LED. Unless you have a defective light or have physical damage, you shouldn't have to replace the light.

Ls400

Enlightened
I read the Kona has a better LED projector than the ones used by Toyota on its recent models.

-Virgil-

Flashaholic
Get the LED lights. It's not that LED headlamps are necessarily or always better -- it's completely possible to make a low-performing LED headlamp -- but increasingly, the LED headlamps on the market convincingly beat the performance of the halogen lamps on the same car. LED headlamps are sealed units; there is no bulb to replace. Lifespan of the LED light source is many times longer than that of a bulb; this is not a concern.