Metal Buttons for McClicky Switches?

Splint0r

Newly Enlightened
Hello all,

First I wanted to apologize in case this discussion has happened hundreds if times before but I am relatively new to CP and couldn't find anything with my Google-fu::

Would it be possible to replace the rubber boot cover on the McClicky switch with a metal button/cap?

The little I know is that the McClicky is highly regarded as one of the best click switches if not the best but I am not technically savvy enough to understand exactly why.

Has something like this already been done? Or is there an alternative that would fit in a light that already has a McClicky? If so, could someone point me in the right direction? No use in reinventing the wheel...

archimedes

Flashaholic
Could that be done ? Sure.

The few metal-capped flashlight "clicky" switches I've used have tended to bind up, and are somewhat less comfortable to use :shrug:

Last edited:

Modernflame

Flashlight Enthusiast
If a metal switch cover on a McClicky is your end game, and your wallet doesn't run for the hills, you can order a Prometheus Alpha with the optional metal tail cap button. You'll also have to wait for another drop, as they are currently out of stock.

InvisibleFrodo

Enlightened
I would recommend researching that particular metal tailcap switch so you know what you are getting into. Unlike most all other metal tailcap buttons that are a metal cover over a rubber boot, this one has a dynamic moving Oring seal. It is very cool in that it is s genuine metal button, not just a cover for show. But it isn't zero maintenance like a rubber boot, and it can't provide quite as reliable of a seal.

Splint0r

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for all the feedback everyone!