Suggestions on keychain light for wife(Pelican L1?

4x4Dragon

Flashlight Enthusiast
First of all im not a newbie so i know about most of the keychain lights with the Arc AAA being the reigning king of course. I need to replace my wives keychain light yet AGAIN after first giving her the UK 2aaa E-LED, and now she has a silver CMG Sonic. the UK broke(something inside the lense broke and was rattling around) and I just don't like the CMG Sonic. it's quality, in my opinion, is nowhere near that of an Arc AAA, and I just don't feel comfortable having her rely on it.

I really like the Pelican L1 due to the easy "woman friendly" tailcap switch but from what i've seen, the runtime sucks. what im looking for is something that's got good runtime, easy battery replacement, easy operation, and that can "wow/impress" on occasion. is there anything that can be easily modded on the L1 that can increase the runtime? i've heard of only using 3 button cells and 1 "dummy" cell or a nut to increase runtime??? i can handle a loss in brightness as i understand the L1 is superbright to start off with. would like it to be at least as bright as an Arc AAA.

there's also the PT Eclipse 2 but im worried that she wouldn't understand to use the dimming capability to save battery power.

can anyone help? would really like to try the L1

Roy

Farewell our Curmudgeon Administrator
You might check with Lambda and see if he has any of the modified SL KeyMate's left. Luexon driven by a Arc-Mania board and a "N" cell. Bright!

4x4Dragon

Flashlight Enthusiast
oops! forgot to mention that im trying to keep the cost under $20. that's why im not just getting her an Arc AAA.

Roy

Farewell our Curmudgeon Administrator
Give her $20.00 worth of the those key-chain lights that Countrycomm sells! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinser2.gif

4x4Dragon

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
Roy said:
Give her $20.00 worth of the those key-chain lights that Countrycomm sells! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinser2.gif