Awesome! Powers of 10.

epro05

Newly Enlightened
This link shows a sequence of views, starting 10 million light years from earth, with each successive view being a 10X zoom from the previous one. 40 views total. That's a 10^40 zoom total. Thought provoking.

What do you think?

Powers of 10

gregw45

Newly Enlightened
Reminds me of how Sunday's "The Simpson's" episode started.

/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thumbsup.gif

6pOriginal

Enlightened
Very cool! Am I the only person that thinks the metric system makes more sense? Being an engineering student, I can only wish that we are using the metric system....life for us will be so much easier with that /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon23.gif

MichiganMan

Enlightened
6pOriginal, the metric system wouldn't work here as American's would never accept living under a foreign ruler.

/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

eluminator

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
6pOriginal said:
Very cool! Am I the only person that thinks the metric system makes more sense?

[/ QUOTE ]

Not by any means. Most people who have been brainwashed in school agree with you. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

So where does this power of ten thing come from? Just because we learned to count using base ten (decimal). Life would be easier if we used a base that was a power of two. Like the octal or hexadecimal system.

Our brains naturally like powers of two, or factors of two. I'll bet the fuel gauge in your car doesn't show tenths of a tank. It shows 1/2, 1/4, 1/8 etc. This is binary (factors of two), pure and simple. It explains why we can cut a pizza into 8 equal pieces more easily than we can cut it metrically into ten equal pieces. I could give many more examples, but I'm saving that until I write a book. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif