A flashlight that runs on standard NiMH cells?

TeronG

Newly Enlightened
Hello all,
this being my first post I would like to say: nice to meet you, I'm Terong :)

Since I'm a noob when it comes to lights, I would like to ask for Your help with search for a flashlight that suits my needs. By the way, English is not my native language, so sorry for any errors.
I would like to find a flashlight that uses standard NiMH rechargeables or alkalines. Size could be AA, AAA, C, D, whatever cylindrical. It should be as as bright as possible for this batteries to run. I know NiMH doesn't have very high energy density, so I don't that expect the light to run very long on a set o batteries. If it uses them up like crazy - it's still fine, I don't care. If it needs a lot of them at once - it's ok with me. It would be quite nice to have regulated flood/throw (focus?).
To be more specific, here's completed checklist:

==================Flashlight Recommendation Checklist================

1) How would you prefer to purchase the light?

____I would like to purchase the light in person from a brick and mortar store. I am located in ______________.
__x__This will be mail-order or Online (location doesn't matter).

2) Budget: An easy question, but you may change your mind after answering the rest! :)

__x__I don't know yet
____Up to $25.
____Up to $50.
____Up to $100.
____Up to $200.
____Up to $300.
____Essentially unlimited.

3) Format:

____I am not sure, please help me decide.
__x__I want a flashlight (hand held/self contained).
____I want a self-contained headlamp.
____I want a headlamp with an external pack/power source.
____I want a mounted light (typically for a bicycle or vehicle)
____I want a lantern/area light.
____I want a portable spotlight (it may have an external power source).
____Other ____________________________________________

4) Size:

____MICRO - Keychain size.
____TINY - Every day carry (2-4 inches).
____SMALL - Every day carry (4-7 inches).